• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • June 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « May    
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

For My Baker Friends

Recently a friend commented that I have not posted anything on baking lately.  For those of you who are new to my blog, another one of my passions in addition to Siberians is baking.  When we lived near Springfield I was very busy at this time of year trying out new recipes for entries in the Illinois State Fair Culinary contests.  Crystal Lake is just too far to commute back and forth to Springfield for two weeks. Consequently my baking trials (and errors!) have been few this year. But recently I have had the opportunity to put on my apron and dust the kitchen with lots of flour – of course, that is King Arthur Flour!

My granddaughter, Neah, graduated from Palatine High School and her parents threw a wonderful party for her.  SueEllen asked if I would like to bring the dessert. Neah was afraid it would be too much for me but I said “I would absolutely love to bake for your party.”  This was her dessert buffet menu:

Chocolate Praline Cake

Apple Pies

Cream Puffs

Brownies with chocolate chips

Brownies with toasted pecans

Mexican Wedding Cookies

Macarons

Caramel Pecan Fudge Tarts

Cookie Press Butter Cookies

Sour Cream Banana Cake Squares with Butter Cream Frosting

We buzzed off to the party, car loaded with desserts, kitchen left in a disaster!  But my wonderful friend Sara was at our house and when I came home the kitchen was clean and all the dishes done!

 

If you look closely, you will see the party had an Alabama theme — where Neah will be going to college — Roll Tide!

So after the party, now I am on a roll!  Part of my support for Refuge for Women is to bake cakes for birthdays and other milestones.  These are two cakes I made during the last two weeks.

 

Well I better close off and head to the grocery store. Tomorrow is Father’s Day which means I need to buy more flour! Think I will make an apple pie (husband’s favorite) and cherry pie (son-in-law’s favorite)!

 

Happy Baking!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sandra Rasmussen

     /  June 18, 2017

    Nancy, You are like Wonder Woman! Sandi R. >

    Reply
  2. SueEllen Patkunas

     /  June 21, 2017

    Everything was so delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

