• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • March 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Nancy Update

Hi Folks, Jim here, the other half of Semper Fi Siberians. So many of you have expressed well wishes and prayers for Nancy and her surgery, so I wanted to sneak into her computer and post something on her blog Shhhh, don’t tell her I did this. LOL. Oh well, she’ll find out once she is up and around.

Anyway, she came threw the surgery fine, and she slept well Thursday night. She’s been a real trooper (Oops, I meant Marine). We went back to the Dr’s yesterday for a check up to make sure the “bubble” was still there and slowly dissipating as it should be. All was well. They place a bubble of liquid (I think) in the cornea and it is should dissipate over three to four days. During that time she must lay on her back with her head tilted back slightly so the chin is up. I assume that’s to keep the bubble level throughout the cornea.

This lying on her back is the toughest part of it all. I cannot imagine having to lay on my back for 3-4 days. When I had my heart surgery, I had to remain on my back for twenty-four hours and it darned near killed me, so I have some idea of what she is going through now.

We return to the Dr’s this coming Wednesday to see if the bubble is gone and he will at that time give us some instructions as to when she needs her next checkup. If we are able to leave the end of this month as planned, the intent is for her to fly back here whenever for the appointment rather than seeing someone up in Chicago.

This Dr. is amazing. I met him for the first time yesterday. Walks in wearing running pants, shoes, and an Under Armour T-shirt. Spent no more than 4-5 minutes with us; looked at her eye, said good, remain on your back, see you next Wednesday. He is one busy fellow. As he was leaving I jokingly asked if there was anyone keeping track of how many of these operations he has performed. He laughed and said “Thousands, I am probably number two in the world.” Trust me, I can believe him by the number of foreign languages I heard spoken in the waiting room.

Anyway, that’s it for the update on my bride. She remains in good spirits and we both sincerely appreciate and are humbled by the outpouring of wishes and prayers we have received and continue to receive from so many of you. Thank you!

 

Semper Fi,

Jim

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Thanks for the update! Continued prayers for you both!!

    Reply
  2. Julie G

     /  March 18, 2017

    Thanks for the update! Glad to hear she is doing well. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Amy Schubert

     /  March 18, 2017

    Thank you for posting an update. We are glad everything so far has gone well. Our prayers will continue.

    Reply
  4. Jane Tuchscherer

     /  March 18, 2017

    Great to hear from you, Jim. Thank you for this news. Please give Nancy our best wishes from Jane and David. All sounds like it’s going beautifully. Sounds very tough to lie there though!!!

    >

    Reply
  5. Deborah McKenna

     /  March 18, 2017

    I’m so happy to hear that you came through the surgery with flying colors. I’m sure you will have your furry buddies around you while your recuperating. Your in my prayers.

    Reply
  6. Dorann Perry

     /  March 18, 2017

    Thanks for the update Jim. Happy 😊 the surgery was successful. Hope all is well for the remaining days. Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  7. Vicki

     /  March 18, 2017

    Good news! Thanks Jim for the information. I hope Jim, the cats, and the dogs are doing their jobs and watching over you. Three weeks is a long time to stay down, but just relax and sleep lots.

    Reply
  8. Erin Carroll

     /  March 18, 2017

    I hope you heal quickly! Maui sends you earth shattering purrs!

    Reply
  9. Sandi Rasmussen

     /  March 18, 2017

    Great news! Will continue to pray for your full recovery. Sandi Rasmussen

    Reply
  10. mjh90391@gmail.com

     /  March 19, 2017

    Thanks for the news Jim. Glad to know she is doing well. Prayers for patience!! Margaret

    Sent from my iPad

    Margaret Horstman

    >

    Reply
  11. Julie Masterman

     /  March 23, 2017

    Wow! What great news! Get well soon, Nancy! We will be praying for you during your difficult recovery. Julie, Justin, Mae, Grace and O’Malley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

