• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • March 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Closed For Vacation

When my friend, Susan, learned of my upcoming surgery, she said you need to tell all your pet parents you are closed for vacation!  I guess, in a way, it will be a vacation. I am a glass half full kind of person so that is how I am going to look at this time off from the cattery.

I have a date with an eye surgeon! Two years ago I was diagnosed with Fuchs Dystrophy which is a rare eye disease where the cells in the cornea die more rapidly than normal. It is called a fickle disease because you never know when or if your sight will deteriorate enough to require a transplant. I was told by one doctor he did not think I would ever reach the point where this was necessary. But guess what? It has. I feel very fortunate that our home in Fort Myers is only three miles from the office of a world-renowned surgeon for this disease. During my initial appointment with him, I was told I need a cornea transplant in my right eye. My left eye is fine at this time. I am having this surgery on March 16. At least for three to four days I will have to be flat on my back with my eyes to the ceiling, only up for bathroom breaks and meals. The remainder of the recuperation period will be determined after the doctor sees how I respond.

I am telling you all of this because it will affect my communication with you. There will be no texting or computer usage.  And I probably won’t feel like talking on the phone. If you do have questions that cannot wait for a couple of weeks, you can contact Jim but please remember Jim will be busy taking care of the kittens, the cats and dogs and the house – plus waiting on me!  His telephone number is (217) 823-5483. He will read emails as time permits.


I know many of you have been waiting to see photos of Liliya’s kittens born February 7 so here they are: Three Little Women!

Beth

 

Jo

 

Meg

 


To end this post on a fun note, I thought you might enjoy the following:

Since Jim and I have separate offices (in the same house!), we often communicate during the day via email.  He sent me this and I thought you all might get a laugh!  She referred to her husband with not a very nice name in the last line, but I deleted it to make it “child friendly.”.

When Love Fades

Last night I was sitting on the sofa watching TV.

When I heard my wife’s voice from the kitchen ask…

“What would you like for dinner, my love? Chicken, Beef or Lamb?”

I said, “Thank you, dear, I think I’ll have chicken.”

She replied , “You’re having soup, XXX. I was talking to the cat.”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. t b

     /  March 14, 2017

    Blessings to you that it all goes well and you can see again! My best friend and her father have that same disease. It’s hereditary. (Have your kids been tested?) He had both eyes done. So far she is ok. But cannot drive at night.

    Thank you again for my wonderful Mr Sebastian!

    Traci

    >

    Reply
  2. Korrel Rosenberg

     /  March 14, 2017

    Hi Nancy, I just want you to know that I will be praying for a speedy recovery. So happy that you are getting this problem rectified. Jezzy is AMAZING (pic attached) and is absolutely the love of my life!  (don’t tell Ross!) 🙂 Looking forward to hearing how things go.  I’m sure it will be a complete success! Warmly,Korrel

    Reply
  3. Julie G

     /  March 14, 2017

    Lily has the cutest kittens!

    Reply
  4. Cindi Newman

     /  March 14, 2017

    Oh Nancy,

    I wish you a full and speedy recovery!!!

    Please take care of yourself and you will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Here are some pictures of Stanislav who will turn one year old on March 29th! How time flies!

    Take care!! Cindi Newman Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  5. Linda and Nadeah

     /  March 14, 2017

    Dear Nancy: Sending you lots of best wishes for a smooth surgery and recovery. Hope you are back from “vacation” before too long. Fondly, Linda and Nadeah

    Reply
  6. Kristina Beliveau

     /  March 14, 2017

    Good wishes for your surgery and recovery, Nancy!! I hope your down time will fly by with lots of cat naps!! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Dorann Perry

     /  March 14, 2017

    Thinking about you and praying for successful operation with Dr Gorovoy. He has a wonderful reputation and will be well prepared for your surgery. All my best to you and Jim. Looking forward to hearing from you after your surgery. Hugs. 👍🏻 Dorann

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  8. mjh90391@gmail.com

     /  March 14, 2017

    Hi Nancy, I always enjoy your posts, good advice and wonderful pictures. I hope your surgery goes well and your recovery is short. You and your loved ones, including the 4 legged ones, as well as the docs will be in my prayers. Margaret

    Sent from my iPad

    Margaret Horstman

    >

    Reply
  9. Kathy Lincoln

     /  March 14, 2017

    Dear Nancy,I will have you in my prayer box at school and all my my fifth graders will pray with me for you! Remember,”Trust the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Proverb 3:5-6Hugs from Sly and us,Kathy, Edward, and Stacey.

    Reply
  10. Wendy Warren

     /  March 14, 2017

    Prayers for a successful surgery and peaceful recovery …

    Reply
  11. Leah

     /  March 14, 2017

    Nancy,

    You will be in our thoughts and prayers.

    Leah & family

    Reply
  12. Sandi Rasmussen

     /  March 14, 2017

    You will be in our prayers and so will Jim and all the doctors and nurses.
    Sandi, Tony & Sugar

    Reply
  13. Heather Hosein

     /  March 14, 2017

    Best wishes on your surgery and for a quick recovery!

    Reply
  14. Nikki

     /  March 14, 2017

    Wishing our sweet Nancy a successful surgery and a quick recovery of strength. God Bless and Big Hugs from The Hussey’s 😻😻😻

    Reply
  15. Amy Schubert

     /  March 15, 2017

    Thank you for sharing this. We are part of your family and it’s touching that you chose to share this with us. We will pray for you; we will pray the surgeons hands will be guided by our Great Physician. You are valuable to us and we look forward to any updates when time permits.

    Reply
  16. Christy Beckman

     /  March 16, 2017

    Nancy,  I’m so sorry to hear of your needed “VACATION”. I’m glad to know you’re in such capable hands of your doctor and Jim, of course. Prayers for all of you during the entire process. Loved the little joke you tied on there as well. Those little ladies are beautiful.  I’m not sure if I should show my girls their pics since that coloring is exactly what they want in their next siberian! I may have to get back on the list next year for one of hers. Best wishes for you all! Christy Beckman and family PS.  Here’s a serious pic of Gingie,  he’s a doll!

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S® 5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

    Reply
  17. Nikki Hussey

     /  March 17, 2017

    Praying our sweet Nancy had a successful surgery ❤️❤️❤️. Please update us when you can. Hugs and prayers from The Hussey Family!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

