• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • September 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

DIY Cat/Kitten Ideas

Zhaklin (Jackie) gives birth – 2 males and 1 female.  More babies on the way mid October!

image

 

Thought I would share the above You Tube video with you because it has some cute ideas. A few people have asked me for suggestions to stop their cats from getting on the counters.  This video gives a suggestion.  We gave up a long time ago! I think it is manageable with one or two cats but with six, not worth the trouble!  Instead what I do is sterilize* before meal prep.  Actually, they just want to go on the island so I do very little food handling there.  They are content to lie there and watch me as I work around the rest of the kitchen.

The one suggestion in the video of having a box on the counter — they did it so the cat could have a place to look out the window — to me is an excellent solution.  Cats love boxes! If the only place the cat goes is in the box, you don’t have to worry about the rest of the counter.

A box lid was my solution to pleasing our cats who want to be with me while I am on the computer without them choosing the keyboard for their resting spot.  Take a shallow lid – like the one I use from a Scrabble game – put it next to your screen, and your cat will be perfectly content.

 

*Be very careful of the cleaner/sterilizer you use – both for counters and floors. Please use a bio-based cleaner that is safe for pets like my favorite:  

This one bottle of bio-base concentrated floor wash (also good for counters) makes 64 gallons of cleaning product. If you are one of our pet parents using Life’s Abundance pet foods, add a bottle to your next order. If you are new to Life’s Abundance, go to http://www.MrSilversfood.com


School has started, children are back to doing homework but when you have a Siberian to help you, it makes it so much easier:

lincoln-doing-homework

Lincoln helping Avery with her homework!


Laysa says this bed's for me but you're welcome to try to get in on either side of me! (Beloved Siberian of Bill and Amy)

Laysa says this bed is for me but you’re welcome to try to get in on either side of me! (Beloved Siberian of Bill and Amy)

 

“I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul.”
― Jean Cocteau

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I really need to try that Tupperware toy DIY from the video! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

