• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • August 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

A Little of This, A Little of That


Viktor and Vicki

Viktor was the last kitten from Sophie’s litter to go to his forever home.  Vicki returned the day before from her European vacation but she didn’t want to wait another day to take Viktor in her arms so she and two or her friends drove from Iowa to Crystal Lake.  This is a note we just received from Vicki: “Viktor has been a good kitty and is fun to play with.  He has learned to fetch the red foil toy or the green coil you gave him, but still loves the remote mouse the best.  He continues to be real “lovey dovey” at times.  And… I have had no problems with my allergies!”

Viktor and Vicki


Dryer Maid Ball

This is a product I have been wanting to tell you about for a long time and I keep forgetting.  But a trip to the laundry room today brought it to mind – front and center.  So I just had to go to the computer and type this. We keep the cats out of the laundry room but somehow Maggie got in without us knowing and spent the night curled up on Jim’s black shorts — out of the dryer, on the counter, but hadn’t made it upstairs yet.  They were covered in cat hair.  (Yes, Siberians do shed! Not all the time, thank goodness, but our ladies do when they are in a hormonal way–mostly after giving birth and nursing kittens.) Now I have been looking at these shorts for longer than I care to mention but didn’t want to bother with them. But today, I said I need to tackle this. Was just going to reach for my lint roller (which never gets it all done without using half a roll) and then they were going back in the washer. But a light bulb went off. Why not put them in the dryer on fluff for few minutes with the Dryer Maid Ball.  I did and this is the result:

Before

Before

After

After

I have had this ball for several months and use it with every dryer load.  I do not think it is that great for removing wrinkles but for removing pet hair I give it five stars! I hesitated buying one because of mixed reviews on Amazon but now having used one, I believe some of the complaints were because they didn’t read the directions! The ball is not to be fully inflated.


Young Marines

As if we aren’t busy enough raising kittens, Jim decided to accept the challenge and become the volunteer director of a new unit of Young Marines located in the Fox Valley area.  And, of course, being a dutiful wife I said I would help.  The first boot camp was held August 1-4. If you remember that week, it was extremely hot.  But those wonderful children hung in there, completed the training, and this Saturday we celebrated their graduation.

image

If you have never heard of this organization, you may want to read about their mission, motto and creed. I think you will be impressed.

Mission
The mission of the Young Marines is to positively impact America’s future by providing quality youth development programs for boys and girls that nurtures and develops its members into responsible citizens who enjoy and promote a healthy, drug-free lifestyle.

Motto
Strengthening the lives of America’s youth

Young Marine Obligation
From this day forward, I sincerely promise, I will set an example for all other youth to follow and I shall never do anything that would bring disgrace or dishonor upon my God, my Country and its flag, my parents, myself or the Young Marines. These I will honor and respect in a manner that will reflect credit upon them and myself. Semper Fidelis.

Young Marine Creed
1. Obey my parents and all others in charge of me whether young or old.
2. Keep myself neat at all times without other people telling me to.
3. Keep myself clean in mind by attending the church of my faith.
4. Keep my mind alert to learn in school, at home, or at play.
5. Remember having self-discipline will enable me to control my body and mind in case of an emergency.

https://members.youngmarines.com/unit/foxvalley/aboutus


Birthdays – Happy Birthday to all my special girls!

August is definitely birthday month in our family, with December following closely behind.  August 2 was daughter-in-law, Julie’s birthday (am I allowed to say 41st???). Today is granddaughter, Mary’s 15th birthday, Saturday was granddaughter, Neah’s 17th birthday and Friday was our daughter, SueEllen’s 50th birthday. SueEllen’s husband Mike and daughter Lindsay put together a grand party at Smith Street Station in Palatine.  There were 91 of her closest friends in attendance!  SueEllen is a gift from God – she loves everyone and everyone loves her!

SueEllen is second from left

SueEllen is second from left

 

 


Life’s Abundance

Corporate Caring &
Community Outreach

Life’s Abundance is a company with a big heart. We put a lot of effort into conveying this through the level of service that we give to our family of Field Reps and their customers, the care and attention we put into providing premium products and through our charitable efforts in support of our non-profit foundation. It is this commitment to caring that led us to reach out to our local community. As a result, Life’s Abundance is very proud to announce that we are Official Sponsors of Palm Beach County’s third annual Countdown 2 Zero adoption event.

On Saturday, September 10th, the Palm Beach County Convention Center will be overtaken by hundreds of adoptable cats and dogs (rabbits and guinea pigs, too) along with their rescue group caretakers. The goal is to find forever homes for 500 of these hopeful pets. Countdown 2 Zero is a broad campaign harnessing the expertise and resources of both the local county government and private animal rescue agencies with a mission to bring the euthanasia of adoptable pets down to zero by 2024. Great inroads are being made in Palm Beach County, Florida, toward this goal with a comprehensive approach that includes high volume, affordable spay/neuter, proactive T.N.V.R. (trap, neuter, vaccinate & return), medical and behavior programs, cooperative rescue networks, expanded foster programs and more.

We are excited to meet some of our animal-loving neighbors on September 10th, and are proud to support this important push to help companion animals and the people who love them. We applaud the efforts of the Countdown 2 Zero organizers, and every one of you who works to affect positive change in your community. Together, we truly can make the world a better place.


Rosie

Thank you Kristie for sending this beautiful photo of Rosie!

Rosie (Scott and Kristie Holland)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Mary Alice Cunningham

     /  August 22, 2016

    How often do Young Marines meet?

    Mary Alice Sent from my iPad

    Reply
    • They meet every other Saturday for drill but there are other events such as this Saturday they are going to a homeless shelter for women veterans and will be pulling weeds and other jobs to make their lawn look nice. They are committed to community service.

      Reply
  2. Mary Alice Cunningham

     /  August 22, 2016

    There is a familiar face in the back row – in uniform!

    Mary Alice Sent from my iPad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

