• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • January 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

The Creed of Love

Every morning I start my day with devotion and prayer . In addition to the Bible, my two favorite devotional books are Norman Vincent Peale’s Positive Thinking For Every Day of the Year and Daily Guideposts. Because this morning’s devotion from Daily Guideposts 2016 was so touching to me, I would like to share it with you.

I realize and understand not all reading my blog share in my religious beliefs and I respect that. But I believe the following story of a cat and her family shows a universal creed—love.

 

Wednesday, January 20  Daily Guideposts 2016:

There is a bench in the master bathroom next to the tub.It provides a clear view of my husband’s side of the bed, and since Keith had to sleep sitting up in order to breathe, an occupant of the bench could see him clearly. On the morning before my husband died, our cat L.E. had curled onto the bench, her green eyes fixed on him. For more than thirty hours, she never moved from that spot.

The  year before, when Keith had had to spend several days in the hospital, L.E. was frantic, wandering from room to room looking for him, meowing forlornly. She had always demanded he fuss over her. I expected that after he died she would be as stricken as I was. But once the men from the funeral home took Keith’s body from the house, L.E. left the bench and came into the kitchen to eat. I knew that she understood he wasn’t coming back.

Two months after Keith died, L.E. came to me to be petted for the first time and then vanished under the bed for several days, except for meals and the litter box. The next time she came to me, she stayed longer and vanished for a shorter time. When Keith had been gone for six months, L.E. climbed onto my lap, tucked her head under my chin, and purred. I began to think she had stored up the love Keith had given her and now was sharing it with me.

—Rhoda Blecker

I don’t have a photo of L.E. But I hope you will enjoy these photos of some of our Siberians who bring love to their families.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Korrel Rosenberg

     /  January 20, 2016

    How lovely. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Vicki Stegall

     /  January 20, 2016

    While my Mom was still alive (she passed Dec. 18) and residing in an assisted living facility, another lady there had a “regular, run of the mill” elderly cat. The cleaning gal thought this cat, named Jenny, had been abused at some point in her life as she was very skiddish of people. I could kind of pet her if I approached her calmly and patiently. Her owner became worse and was bedridden the last day or so of her life. Jenny, the cat, sat on her owner’s bed and never moved until the owner took her last breath. Jenny was now an orphan, but the story ends happily. The cleaning gal took her home where she now lives happily when she isn’t trying to start a fight with Sam, the other cat.

    BTW I just subscribed to Guidepost Magazine as my Mom did for many years.

    Vicki

    ________________________________

    Reply
  3. Ann Brown

     /  January 20, 2016

    Such a beautiful story. Having loved Nikolay for the past seven months I really believe these cats are little angels and agents of God’s love. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  4. Amy Schubert

     /  January 20, 2016

    This entire post was a blessing. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

