• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • December 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

Cats, Christmas Trees and Gifts for You!

Izabella Loves Christmas

At this time of year I get calls asking about the combination of kittens/cats and Christmas trees.  What is my advice?  I am reposting my blog from last year on this subject.
It is generally thought that pine trees can be deadly to cats but fir trees are okay.  The above article points out cautions that should be taken also with fir trees and artificial trees.  What I worry most with live trees is the water in the tree stand.  One often puts an additive in the water and pets are naturally drawn to drink the water and can get sick from this.
If I had a choice, I would get an artificial tree and spray it with bitter apple spray before decorating it.
Having said all that, I think the best thing you can do is to not let the cats in the same room as the tree unsupervised. Or you could order this tree decal from Amazon for only $4.52! Yes, I am kidding!
Guaranteed kitten safe!

Guaranteed kitten safe!

I love giving gifts at Christmas time and I truly wish I could give one to each and every one of my blog followers but I don’t think Jim (the economist in the family) would appreciate that idea.  “So what should I do” I pondered.  I came up with an idea that I hope you will enjoy.  Anyone who posts a comment on my blog posts for this month, will have his or her name put in a container.  On Christmas Day I will have one of my grandchildren draw out three names. There will be three gifts. The first name drawn will get first pick of the gifts, second name second pick and third name gets the remaining gift—kind of like those on the waiting list choosing their kittens!   You don’t have to be one of our pet parents, you just have to be a follower of my blog.  Go to the bottom of the blog posts for the next three weeks and fill in the box that says “Leave a Comment.”  You can make a comment about the post, you can make a comment about your kitten or cat, or you can just say “Hi” – and you are entered.  If you leave a comment for all three posts, your name gets put in three times!

These are the gifts:
          scarf

scarf

        watch

watch

  tiny earrings

tiny earrings – definitely not to scale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We would love for you to share your photos of your cats and kittens enjoying the Christmas season! Send them to us at jimnancy@semperfisiberians.com

Thanks, Deb, for posting this beautiful photo.

Thanks, Deb, for posting this beautiful photo.

 

 

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Mary Alice Cunningham

     /  December 4, 2015

    Even though I didn’t receive one if your little gifts, the ones you helped me choose are blessings. Thank you. PMA

    Reply
  2. Christy Beckman

     /  December 4, 2015

    We are so thankful for our Siberia beauties! They light up our days (and nights) with their antics! Nothing says love like 2 cats running over you while sleeping!

    Reply
  3. John Amerine

     /  December 4, 2015

    Love the pic of the wistful Siberian gazing at the tree – mine would be gazing OUT from inside upper branches. LOL

    Reply
  4. Chuck Gill

     /  December 4, 2015

    Last year Rasputin would lay under the tree, but never really bothered it. We have an artificial tree with artificial pine cones, he lost interest in those when he realized they weren’t food.

    Reply
  5. Sara Chatterjea

     /  December 4, 2015

    Commenting on behalf of Kiki because she’d love any of those things! Thanks Nancy and Jim!

    Reply
  6. Barb

     /  December 4, 2015

    My kitties are not Sibnerians but they are as big. I can only guess at their weight. One is over 25 lbs. They just lay around and admire my trees. The tree skirts on the other hand, get dragged around at night and used for fancy beds.

    So its obvious with them “Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night”

    Reply
  7. Amy Schubert

     /  December 4, 2015

    Our kitties love the Christmas tree!

    Reply
  8. Michelle

     /  December 4, 2015

    Deb, what a beautiful Siberian cat you have, cute pic!

    Reply
  9. Liz & family

     /  December 5, 2015

    Oh what fun it is to watch our Siberian under the tree!! 😄

    Reply
  10. Ksjusha and Tchai

     /  December 7, 2015

    I thought about getting a wall decal christmas tree, but I have experience with Tchai going after other posters above my bed so maybe the real tree will even be less tempting to him! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Stephanie M

     /  December 7, 2015

    Even if I don’t win the drawing I want to know where you found all of the adorable cat gifts! We also love watching our beautiful kittens under the Christmas tree. We’ve had pretty good luck, they only seem to be attracted to one type of ornament, tiny stars that we use for filler. Luckily, they are made of plastic so we don’t have to worry about broken glass. We’re trying to train them, when we catch swiping and tell them “No”, they get rewarded when they listen.

    Reply
  12. Lois Cotta

     /  December 8, 2015

    I love the picture Deb posted! Siberians are literally the most beautiful cats in the world. Our Izzy just loves to hang out under the tree and curl up on the soft tree skirt. She has never tried to climb the tree, or touch the ornaments, but I have seen her bite the branches once or twice. Love the gift ideas too.

    Reply
  13. Dinora Hedberg

     /  December 8, 2015

    Thank you J and N for the info about the Christmas trees, Iam very hesitant about a tree this year, Maya is into everything right now, she is a very happy go everywhere get in everything kitty and we adore her, I do not want her to get hurt in any way so I dont think I will get a tree this year…and I dont really care she is my baby, she will make my christmas wonderful anyway haha really. Thank you J and N

    Reply
  14. Dinora Hedberg

     /  December 8, 2015

    Hi Jim and Nancy, after researching on this subject, Iam a little scare to put my little Maya in danger so no Christmas tree this year, she makes everybody hapy at home, so she is my Christmas for this years and many ahead, she is so getting into everything, that a Christmas tree is not an option, thank you for the info Jim and Nancy, Maya send many kisses

    Reply
  15. Rachel Cotta

     /  December 8, 2015

    Thank you so much for this post! It was very helpful as we have a live tree this year. Definitely will be sending you photos later! Greetings from Isabel!

    Reply
  16. Jamie Pries

     /  December 13, 2015

    I love the idea of a gift giveaway Nancy & Jim!!! Hope you’re all doing well!

    Reply
  17. SueEllen

     /  December 12, 2016

    Hi Mom! Not commenting to be put in drawing but just wanted to say that I love reading all of the other comments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

