• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • May 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

Can Cats Be Infected With Dog Flu?

http://www.chicagonow.com/steve-dales-pet-world/2015/05/dog-flu-questions-answered/

One of of our new pet parents asked if she should be concerned about taking her new kitten to the vet because of the dog flu which is currently a problem in the Chicago area.  I have been reading everything I see about this subject but could not find an answer.  I emailed Steve Dale who has a wonderful pet column and has been thoroughly investigating this issue.  If you will read the above, you will see his answer to my question.  I am including his entire blog because many of you have dogs in addition to your Siberians.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am happy to announce that Sophia gave birth on April 29.  I am not happy to announce that it took her twelve hours to do so! 😍

About 10:30 the evening of the 28th she let me know it was about time.  I had a birthing box all prepared in my bedroom.  She wanted nothing to do with it. So I prepared a second box.  I have found that our cats like choices!  That didn’t work either.

So I said, “Okay, Sophie dear, where would you like to have your babies?” She led me downstairs to the bathroom which is outside Jim’s workshop on the lower level. I had found her in a cabinet there earlier in the day. The bottom shelf contains paint cans and two boxes of left-over tile.  She proceeded to lie on top of the tile!  I told here this was not a good choice but she just looked at me and would not move. I proceeded to remove all the paint cans, took her off the tile, removed the tile, cleaned the area and put towels in the cabinet.  Did that please her? No. She walked out.

She then led me to the laundry room.  I said, “Not the best choice but definitely better than the paint cabinet.” I got busy and prepared an area but that did not suit her either.  I said “Okay, my dear, we are going back to our bedroom – everything is perfect there – you will see it is a wonderful place to have your babies.” So back we went.  I sat up with her waiting but nothing was happening – no labor – just meowing and rubbing against me.  Finally at 5:00 a.m. I said, “I am going to sleep.”

We woke about 8:30 and went about our morning. While I was feeding Carly, the dog, the other cats and the kittens, Sophie went downstairs again.

About 9:25 I went down to check on her just as baby No. 1 was being born.  By 10:28 she had five more, for a total of six beautiful babies. And where did SHE choose to have them? In a box of towels and sheets I had not unpacked yet!

DSC_0060

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Bill Meyer

     /  May 7, 2015

    Kitty’s always pick the strangest places at least it was in a nice box and I am sure the towels and sheets made for a soft landing for here new kittens. The all look adorable. Anxiously waiting until one comes to live with my wife Amy and I. Bill Meyer

    Reply
  2. Ann Brown

     /  May 7, 2015

    You have raised some spirited mamas! Thanks for the update and beautiful picture. The mama and kittens are amazing!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  3. Julie Ropp

     /  May 7, 2015

    Do I see some color points in those babies??????

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  4. liesfamily@comcast.net

     /  May 7, 2015

    Such a sweet story! I love hearing about them all! Thank you!

    Reply
  5. Brooke Culen

     /  May 11, 2015

    What a beautiful mama and kittens! Thanks for the update. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

