• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • February 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Archives

Quiet Please!

Jim received a call from our friend, Jay, asking him to go fishing on Monday. Because Jackie was expecting any day now he thought perhaps he should not commit.  I said it is fine; it is obvious she is only going to have one or two kittens (she was not large plus her last litter was only two).

Sunday night about 10:15 Jackie let me know she is ready so we head off to the birthing room.  I told Jim  “go to bed. I will wake you up if I need you.” We had two birthing boxes set up and she proceeded to pace back and forth between the two of them but always stopping to get some strokes and reassuring words from me.

11:20 – first baby born

Birth was easy–Jackie and I worked together nicely. No need to wake up Jim. Everything went fine until I tried to open the bottle of iodine to apply to the end of the umbilical cord – and I tried, and I tried some more.  You know those bottles that say press down and turn at the same time. Well I did that but it was not working. I got out the magnifying glass to read the tiny print on the bottle to make sure I was turning it the right way. So they have an open circle with an arrow on each end. Okay!  Now that’s a lot of help! So I remember what Jim taught me: righty tighty, lefty loosey.  So I turn to the left – nothing.  Well, I might as well try turning the other way too. Nothing!  I only had one choice – wake up Jim – so I go into our bedroom bottle in hand – he wakes up, I give him the bottle, one twist, it’s open!

I go back in the room as the second baby is being born – it is 11:40 – wow, that’s quick!

Now we go into a long rest period – nothing is happening – so I think I was right – only two babies. But I have to wait for the placentas to be delivered which finally happens at 12:30.  Before I go to bed, I decide I better feel her to see if by chance there are any more babies.  Yep! I feel two little heads.  I think that’s wonderful – four is the perfect litter size. At 1:10 baby no. 3 comes into the world followed by baby no. 4 at 1:30.

Better just feel feel her one more time.  Oh, there’s another head.  So we wait. Finally at 2:40 the fifth and final baby is born.  Jim is going to be surprised!

I get everything cleaned up and crawl into bed a little after four, but not before putting a sign on the door so Jim will not wake me.

image

In a semi-conscious state I hear him open the door to take a look at the kittens.  I know he is proud that I did it all by myself!

He makes his coffee and heads out the door to go fishing.

So everyone is happy here at the Florida location of Semper Fi Siberians: we have five gorgeous healthy kittens

Zhaklin and her 5 precious babies

Zhaklin and her 5 precious babies

and Jim and Jay caught fish

Sea Trout and Spanish Mackerel

Sea Trout and Spanish Mackerel

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Julie

     /  February 18, 2015

    Oh my gosh! Lindsay is going to flip when I tell her! Lol How exciting. Which mama is up next?

    Reply
  2. Amy Schubert

     /  February 18, 2015

    Oh I loved your handwritten sign! You both did good! Look forward to seeing pictures as the new babies get a little bigger . Now catch up on your sleep!

    Reply
  3. ksjusha314

     /  February 18, 2015

    How exciting! FIVE kittens!! This brings me back to the excitement of the weekend I found out Sophia had her litter and that my baby Tchai was one of those wonderful little kittens.

    Reply
  4. Ann Brown

     /  February 18, 2015

    What joyous news. Congratulations to all! Ann Brown

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  5. Barb

     /  February 18, 2015

    THE BABIES ARE MUCH CUTER THAN THE FISH!

    Reply
  6. Samantha

     /  February 18, 2015

    How beautiful those babies are! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Jane Andrews

     /  February 19, 2015

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  8. Dinora Hedberg

     /  February 21, 2015

    congratulations and what a great job delivering 5 precious babies, waiting to see pics of those beautiful babies 💖

    Reply
  9. Sandy Zarembski

     /  March 2, 2015

    Beautiful babies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

