• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • January 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

Lady and the Tramp

Many of you are probably too young to remember the delightful movie Lady and the Tramp. It came out in the mid-fifties when I was just a wee slip of a girl (all right, Jim, you can pick yourself up off the floor and stop laughing now!). Seriously, I loved this movie and it is one of the few I remember to this day.

A publicized description for this film began: “Experience the thrilling adventures of Lady, a lovingly pampered cocker spaniel, and Tramp, a freewheeling mutt with a heart of gold.”

To be continued……….

During September we adopted into our home two additions to our Siberian family: Magdalena from Slava Cattery and Anastasia from Tunies Siberians. They are future breeders for our cattery…..but, so much more! They bring smiles to our faces every day and sometimes side-splitting laughter. They warm our toes every night and wake us up with kisses every morning….usually too early for two retirees; of course, anything before 9:00 a.m. is too early!

Although Maggie and Ana are less than two weeks a part in age and are both Siberians, their personalities are as different as night and day. Maggie is sweet and will lay on your lap or beside you for hours. Ana also loves to come up on your lap for maybe a minute and then she is off to check out a noise she just heard or play with a toy she just spotted. Both love to give kisses. I think some of Ana’s ancestors must have been Eskimos from Alaska because her kisses are nose rubs. Well, I just thought of this, maybe that’s how they kiss in Siberia too!

……..So every time I look at the two of them chasing each other through the house, swatting a toy back and forth or lying with their arms wrapped around each other, I think of Lady and the Tramp. I know they are not dogs and Ana is definitely not a mutt but the personalities are right on.

DSC_0179

These photos are from this morning. Maggie is taking her nap sprawled across a cabinet in our dining area. Carly, our Golden, is lying on the floor nearby. Ana decides first to go wake up Maggie, then she spots Carly…hmmm, should I pounce on him, she wonders. No I think I will just smudge up the mirror so Ms. Nancy has something to do today. After all, since the kittens have all gone to their forever homes, she is probably getting bored. Well, I guess I have accomplished everything I can do up here, what should I get into next?

DSC_0212 DSC_0216 DSC_0215

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0218 DSC_0217 DSC_0211

 

 

 

 

 

And speaking of the kittens all having gone to their forever homes, I am finally finding some extra time. Jim has been asking me for over two months to take some photos of Maggie and Ana for our website. He is webmaster and handles everything to do with the website but I am the official photographer – I didn’t say I was a good photographer, just the official one! Would you have any objection to helping me pick out the photos I should give him? I am trying to decide between the following. Let me know your choices?

 

Anastasia - A

Anastasia – A

Anastasia - B

Anastasia – B

DSC_0046

Anastasia – C

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Magdalena - A

Magdalena – A

Magdalena - B

Magdalena – B

Magdalena - C

Magdalena – C

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I choose “B” for both cats.

    >

    Reply
  2. Amy Schubert

     /  January 23, 2015

    Ok my vote is Anastasia “c”, but don’t even ask me to choose on the other -the pictures are all TOO cute! How wonderful that you have these two beauties!

    Reply
  3. Dinora Hedberg

     /  January 23, 2015

    Wow that is hard, pictures are all great, and kitties stuning all, may b a collage would be a good one! is hard to pick one.

    Reply
  4. Deborah McKenna

     /  January 23, 2015

    I would say b for both.

    Reply
  5. Chuck Gill

     /  January 23, 2015

    I like picture B for both girls. Rasputin agrees. 😉

    Reply
  6. Liz Fitz

     /  January 23, 2015

    I also say b for both. All great shots.

    Reply
  7. Barb

     /  January 23, 2015

    For Ana it is defintely the A pic and Maggie looks too posed in her A pic, but her piercing gaze in Pic B is her best.

    Reply
  8. Julie G

     /  January 24, 2015

    B for both. Makes them look irresistible with their big eyes! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Kristie H

     /  January 24, 2015

    I choose B for both, they are beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

