• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • October 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Grape Pie, Mmmm Good!

Once a year we have grape pie!  So you ask…”why only once a year?”  Have you ever peeled grapes? If you have, you know the answer. If you haven’t, I am going to show you!

When we moved to our current house Jim wanted to plant grapes.  He thought he was planting the seedless variety but, alas, that was not the case.  Although he envisioned sitting around eating freshly picked grapes from the vine, the varieties with seeds make this more of a task than it is worth.  I said not to worry, my mom always made one grape pie a year and I will do the same. He said he had never had grape pie before and I told him that is because they are a lot of work.

Up until this year we have not had much luck with our grapes. The birds got to them before we did.  One year we had enough for one pie.  This year we out-fooled the birds with bird netting placed over the vines and there were enough grapes for three pies.

Peeling grapes is not exactly how I had planned to spend my Sunday afternoon, but the pie beckoned and we went to work. After Jim picked, the grapes, we washed them. DSC_0019 DSC_0011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then comes the fun part… peeling! You have to put the skins in one bowl and the fleshy part that contain the seeds in a saucepan. DSC_0021 DSC_0009 DSC_0010

 

 

Place the saucepan on the burner over medium low heat and bring to a boil. Then comes another fun part…separating the pulp from the seeds! You do this with a food mill.   DSC_0013   Combine the pulp and the skins with a teaspoon of lemon juice and stir in a mixture of sugar, flour and salt. Pour into the bottom crust, dot with butter and add the top crust.  Sprinkle with sparkling sugar. DSC_0014 DSC_0015 DSC_0017             Bake at for 50 minutes. DSC_0018     Cool.   DSC_0024   Enjoy!   DSC_0026   Today I picked some raspberries from our vines.  What should I make with these?  I’m thinking Raspberry Lemon Muffins! DSC_0029

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Amy Schubert

     /  October 14, 2014

    Yum! I never have had grape pie but of course now I want one! I would have thought the peels were discarded so I was surprised to learn you use them. Thanks for the great pictures too.

    Reply
  2. I would not have a picture of the raspberry because I can eat as fast as I pick. They’
    d be Gone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

