• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • April 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

The House on Oak Lane

The Cat House on Wheels is sitting in the second driveway, the car is in the garage and the house on Oak Lane has welcomed back its vagabond inhabitants. From the street, all looks like everything is back to normal. But inside, things are far from normal.

If you remember from a previous post, our bathroom remodel was to be completed by the end of our Florida vacation. The “plan” was we were to come home to a beautiful, finished bathroom. So guess when the work began…not finished, but began. That’s correct–one day before we arrived home! And this bathroom is not tucked away off of the master bedroom or on a floor out of the way of the normal traffic pattern. It is smack dab in the center of the house. So there are a lot of “sorrys” and “excuse-mes” going on each day. The cats cannot have their normal run of the house so they are tucked away in various rooms. Most cats are curious but Siberians especially so. All we would need is for one of them to go in to see what the contractors are doing and decide to crawl in between the two by fours and then go up and up to the rafters never to be seen again!

You probably didn’t come to this blog to read about the complications in my life; you came to read about and see pictures of Siberian cats.  So I won’t make you wait any longer.  First of all, the kittens in Jackie’s litter have been given names by their adoptive parents. I would like to introduce you to:

Hi, I am Muse.

Hi, I am Muse.

I am very glad to meet you.  My name is Hannibal.

I am very glad to meet you. My name is Hannibal.

My name is Lulu and I just woke up from my nap.

My name is Lulu and I just woke up from my nap.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, get ready for this…..On Easter Sunday night, Sophie started going into labor and by 4:00 a.m. on Monday, had given birth to six beautiful kittens, three color point and three traditional.  Notification has gone out to the next prospective adoptees on our waiting list.  I feel so blessed to have such patient, kind people who want to be a part of the Semper Fi family.  I will be sending them individual pictures in the next couple of days so they can begin to make their choices.

Mama Sophie with her first litter of kittens.

Mama Sophie with her first litter of kittens.

Now that's a pile of kittens!

Now that’s a pile of kittens!

So now we have in the house on Oak Lane: one husband, one wife, two contractors, Zeke the Australian Shepherd, Zoe the rescue cat, the Siberians: teenie bopper Tatiana, Mama Jackie and her three kittens, Mama Sophie and her six kittens, soon-to-be Mama Nadeah, the infamous Mr. Silver……And the big red dog, Carly, came home today from his winter vacation with the Patkunas family. Let me count, one , two , three……yep, that is 21….two – one…..21!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

