• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • March 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

Chapter Five, Cat House on Wheels

It was Saturday, February 23, and I was getting more and more nervous. Jackie was due February 19 and nothing has happened. And it doesn’t help when everyone in the RV park comes by and says “Any kittens yet?” About 7:30 p.m. Jackie starts to get restless and I tell Jim I think this may be the night. I lie down on the bed to rest because I have a feeling I may be up all night. Jackie comes and lays on top of me. About 9:30 I feel her having a contraction. Fifteen minutes later she starts pacing from the bed to the floor to the open cubby hole we have prepared with a comfy bed and heating pad to the birthing box, trying to decide where she wants to have her babies. Jim wants her to have them on our bed like Nadeah did last year but Jackie is having no part of it. She finally decides on the birthing box and the contractions are now visible. It’s 10:15 and she is starting to pant. Jim is resting on the bed and I am sitting on the floor by the birthing box. I close my eyes for a few minutes. I open my eyes and there is a baby just being born—it is 10:54 p.m.

Baby Girl born at 10:54 pm,  2/24/13, 4 oz.

Baby Girl born at 10:54 pm, February 23, 2013, 4 oz.

Jackie hadn’t let out a sound. No matter how many times I view the miracle of birth, I am in awe. How anyone who sees this does not believe in God is beyond me.

Jim decides to go outside and have a cigar. I guess Mr. Silver must be handing them out.

It is now 12:22 a.m. on the 24th when the second kitten decides to join his sister. And he is a big one. Weighed in at 5 oz. which is the biggest new born we have ever had.

Baby Boy born 12:22 a.m., February 24, 5 oz.

Baby Boy born 12:22 a.m., February 24,5 oz.

Jackie is in the birthing box with her two babies and they are nursing away. Jim says maybe that’s all she is going to have.

I am now getting pretty tired but I say the ultrasound vet said there were four so I am going to just sit here and wait.

I must have nodded off for a minute because when I open my eyes Jackie is washing off her third kitten. It is 1:10 a.m.

Baby Girl born 1:10 a.m. February 24, 4 oz.

Baby Girl born 1:10 a.m. February 24, 4 oz.

We wait and then wait some more. At 2:30 Jim calls it a night but I am waiting for the fourth kitten. Finally at 4:00 I realize Jackie has completely cleaned herself in addition to the kittens and she is contentedly nursing her babies. She knows its over so I guess I need to give up and go to bed too. So much for the accuracy of ultrasounds.

We weigh the babies every day to make sure they are getting sufficient nourishment and they are doing fantastic. They are only five days old and the two girls weighed in this morning at 7 1/2 ounces each and the boy weighed in at 8 ounces. Jackie is the perfect mother!

The first three people on our waiting list have been notified and will be making their selection when the kittens are four weeks old.

Excitement abounds!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Dorann Perry

     /  March 1, 2013

    I’ve been thinking about you and wondered if you had kittens yet. They are adorable. Dorann

    Reply
  2. Pastor Mary Alice

     /  March 1, 2013

    They are so cute. Will I get to see them before they go “home”?

    Reply
  3. Shea

     /  March 2, 2013

    I think I look at these pictures every day. ❤ Waaaay too excited! Kitty already has quite a selection of toys to play with. 🙂

    P.S. Love the new blog layout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

