• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • February 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Archives

Chapter Four, Cat House on Wheels

After a very cold week-end, I can once again say “Greetings from sunny Florida.” Do you know how you can tell a snow bird from a Floridian? When the temperature is 60 degrees, the snow bird is in shorts and a tank top; the Floridian is in jeans and a hoodie!

We are on birth alert this week so no going out for our three weekly dinners. All trips are solo. I was able to join my friend Dorann for lunch on Wednesday and Jim went to lunch with his friend Bill today.

So lots of down time puts me in the baking mood. The ovens available in motor homes make baking a challenge but I had some left over canned pumpkin (will explain why in next paragraph) so I decided to make pumpkin cupcakes. I have a delicious recipe that calls for browned butter which compliments the pumpkin and spice flavor. I have had enough chef training to know the value of “mise en place” but with a counter top the size of a postage stamp (slight exaggeration but not much), this is not an easy task. I set out all my ingredients, placed the papers in the cupcake pan, preheated the oven and browned my butter. Next I went to get my mixing bowl that is stored in the bedroom (postage stamp sized cupboards too) …. No room on the counter so I placed it on the dining table (guess what size that is?). Then I brought each ingredient from the counter to the bowl and whisked everything together. I used an ice cream scoop to transfer the batter to the cupcake papers making sure I had the batter equally distributed so all cupcakes would bake evenly, popped them in the oven and set the timer for 20 minutes. After a few minutes rest, I got up and proceeded to wash the dishes and put everything away. What was sitting on the counter behind the bag of flour? My canned pumpkin! This is what pumpkin cupcakes look like when you forget the pumpkin!

Pumpkinless Pumpkin Cupcakes

Pumpkinless Pumpkin Cupcakes

Luckily there was a little batter left over so I added some pumpkin and put it in a small cake pan. After waiting for the oven to cool and spending 30 minutes cleaning up the batter that had spilled all over the oven, the little cake went in to bake. It turned out well and we had enough for dessert for two nights!

So why did I have left over canned pumpkin? It has to do with cats. When a cat has a loose stool, you can give her a little canned pumpkin and it solves the problem. Our Sophie will only eat canned food which we highly recommend and feed all our cats because they need the moisture. But since she won’t also eat dry, her stool can sometimes become loose and messy. A spoonful of pumpkin mixed with her food a couple of times clears everything up. So this is a tip for you the next time your cat has a similar problem. Just remember this is regular canned pumpkin, not the kind that has all the extra ingredients and is called pumpkin pie filling.

We absolutely love when our pet parents send us photos so we can see how our kittens grow and develop. The Carlson family has some very talented amateur photographers. We received two photos this week from them and I just have to share them with you. Please meet Simba who was one year old on January 26.

Taken during Simba's morning massage!

Taken during Simba’s morning massage!

Simba at one year old

Simba at one year old

And this is a photo we took when Simba was only 4 weeks old. I know I am prejudiced but aren’t Siberians the most beautiful cats? Beauty and personality in one little package!

Simba is 4 weeks old

Simba is 4 weeks old

To give you the answer to last week’s question, “what is a silver alert” I will tell you how we found out. Once we entered into Florida and were traveling the interstate, we saw numerous signs overhead announcing “Silver Alert” and then they would give the year and make of a car along with the license number. We just couldn’t come up with the answer so when we were visiting a friend who is in the sheriff’s department, Jim asked him. His friend’s response was “It’s us!” Modeled after the Amber Alert, it is an emergency system which law enforcement can use to broadcast alerts for missing seniors who are suffering from Alzheimer’s or other cognitive disorders. I applaud Florida for this and hope other states will follow suit.

Jim and I have both been feeling a little homesick this week….that was until Pastor Mary Alice gave us a call yesterday and said there was two inches of snow on the ground and four more inches were predicted followed by ice. Well, I will say good-bye for this week, it’s time for me to leave the air conditioned coach and join Jim on the patio! Home will have to wait for awhile!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Renee

     /  February 25, 2013

    We have two siberian cats and I like looking at kitten pictures so I stumbled upon your website a month or so ago. I don’t have a clue why but I can’t wait to hear how the cat house on wheels is going and about the kittens that are on their way.
    Renee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

