• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • April 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

Kupkakes, Kids and Kittens

You ask “where have you been; you haven’t updated your blog in a while?” I have been very, very busy with kupkakes, kids and kittens. Yes, I do know how to spell cupcakes but I thought alliteration was more fun.

The cupcakes were for our April meeting of the United Methodist Women. The left-overs went to my grandchildren, Keegan and Neah.

Beth and Moriah came to our house to take delivery of Kita. Simba and Jax travelled with me to my daughter’s home in Palatine where we met new pet parents Heidi and Todd and Bethany and Cody.

And then it was off to Woodstock to babysit for a week with my grandchildren while my son and his wife went on a well deserved vacation to Arizona. I now know that I am old! Keeping up with three active children and two dogs is not for the faint of heart. It was up every morning at 6:00 and for those of you that know me well, you know I don’t do mornings! But alert I had to be….fix breakfast, pack lunches, check homework is done and in the backpacks, teeth brushed, hair combed and coats on and zipped and out the door a few minutes before 7:00. When did schools start having their day begin at this outrageous hour? There were no extra-curricular activities on Monday but all other days were filled with soccer games (4 in one day), soccer practices, drum lessons, talent show try-outs, Girls on the Run, etc. And that last one included a trip to the emergency room. Luckily after x-rays, no broken bones! Whew! Would I do it again? You bet!

I have been in contact with the new pet parents this past week and every one is doing wonderfully. Moriah reports she has been busy with play practice but as soon as she gets home, it is cuddle time for her and Kita. Moriah’s first performance was Saturday night and I told her “break a leg.” I hope she understood. Does anyone know where that phrase came from? Heidi sent wonderful pictures of her three girls with Simba. They are so good that Jim has permanently posted them on our website. I was so very pleased when Heidi told me the girls took my instructions to heart on how to properly transition a kitten into a home with children and consequently the girls are now loving Simba and Simba is loving them. Bethany and Cody drove all the way down from Michigan after working a full day to pick up Jax. Jax and Sergei are now getting acquainted and it won’t be long until they are good buddies.

We will be leaving on May 1 to deliver Trio to Jessie and Bill and to pick up our newest princess, Sophia. I will update the blog with lots of pictures.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Dorann Perry

     /  April 22, 2012

    Love hearing about your “kids”. Thanks. Dorann

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Dorann. Hope you and your kitties are doing well.

    Reply
  3. Cari Selzer

     /  April 23, 2012

    I am interested in adopting a Siberian kitten for my family in Glenview (5 kids and a 6-yr old Lab). I love the coloring of Trio. How do I get on a waiting list and are you expecting any more liters this year?

    Thank you!
    Cari

    Reply
  4. Your Siberian kittens are quite beautiful. My husband and I are bringing home a Red Mctabby Siberian boy in a few weeks, so I’m really glad I found your blog. Enjoyable reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

