• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Nancy Bathurst

  • March 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

Incredible!

Today was an incredible day! We have lived in the Springfield area a little over four years. We have been told time and time again we should visit the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, but it has always been something that has been put off to the future “when we have time.” Today I accompanied my daughter, SueEllen, my granddaughter, Neah, and her best friend, Luz, to Springfield. We visited the State Capitol and the Museum. At the end of the day I asked SueEllen how to describe today. The only word I could think of was “awesome” but that seemed so trite. We finally came up with “incredible” and “awe-inspiring.” But those words really do not do the museum justice. And you ask, “Why is she telling us about this museum? This is a Siberian blog!” My answer is I want to share this experience with each of you. I am not going to tell you about why it is incredible; I am just going to strongly encourage you with all of my being, if you have not already done so, make a trip to Springfield to visit all of our state’s historical sites, but if you have time for just one, make it the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum. You will not be disappointed!

“As I would not be a slave, so I would not be a master. This expresses my idea of democracy. Whatever differs from this, to the extent of the difference, is no democracy.” Abraham Lincoln

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dorann Perry

     /  March 30, 2012

    We visited it several years ago, and you are right. It is incredible. A great experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

